Criminal Mischief in Greeley and Weld County is defined as someone who knowingly damages the real or personal property of another person in cities like Windsor, Eaton, Fort Lupton, and Miliken.
Criminal Mischief Definition
The Colorado law definition of Criminal Mischief - C.R.S. 18-4-501 - is
Criminal Mischief: Misdemeanor or Felony in Weld County?
The crime will be charged according to the value of the property that was damaged. For property or items that are worth:
- less than $500 - a class 2 misdemeanor
- between $500 and $1,000 - a class 1 misdemeanor
- between $1,000 and $20,000 - a class 4 felony
- $20,000 or more - a class 3 felony
More Money, More Problems with Property Damage
The sum of everything damaged gives the final dollar amount that prosecutors use to determine how the crime will be charged. If several pieces of property are damaged by the same person, the government will add the value of everything together and charge for a more serious crime. If the damage totals less than one thousand dollars, it is a misdemeanor. Any damage of $1000 or more is considered a felony. The police will try and assess the value of the item at the time it was new, and do not account for depreciation. They do this especially in the case of electronics, even though the old technology that was expensive years ago can now be replaced with something better at lower price.
Examples of Criminal Mischief in Greeley
Criminal Mischief charges in Greeley, Evans, Keenesburg, Platteville, and Hudson often result from pranks or vandalism. Colorado law states that if a piece of property is jointly owned and if one person damages that property even though they own it, they will still be charged with this crime. This usually happens in Domestic Violence cases when one person gets angry and damages property they believe to be theirs. The police are able to charge co-owners with this crime because of the joint ownership clause.