When a person in Greeley, Erie, or Evans is convicted of a sex offense, often they will be required to register as a sex offender with their local law enforcement agency. When the person does not register as required, then a new criminal charge of Failure to Register as a Sex Offender can be filed. A resort employee in Vail was recently arrested and charged with Failure to Register as a Sex Offender after being convicted of a Sexual Assault on a Child in another state, which requires lifetime registration.
Weld County Failure to Register as a Sex Offender Definition
Under C.R.S. 18-3-412.5, in Weld, Morgan, and Logan County, Colorado Failure to Register as a Sex Offender is charged when a person does not physically go to their local law enforcement agency within their registration window (5 business days before through 5 business days after their registration date) and update all their information. It can also be charged for putting false information or purposely omitting information on the registration forms. This crime can also be charged if the person required to register does not come in to update their registration after moving to a new address or changing any of the information that’s required during registration, like phone numbers or email addresses.
Sentence for Failure to Register as a Sex Offender in Erie and Evans
If you are arrested in Greeley, Erie, or Evans, for Failure to Register as a Sex Offender, you will be charged with a misdemeanor or felony, depending on your conviction. If you were convicted of a felony sex offense, then the Failure to Register charge would be a class 6 felony, punishable by 12 to 18 months in the Colorado Department of Corrections. If it’s a second or subsequent offense, Failing to Register is a class 5 felony, punishable by 1 to 3 years in DOC. For a misdemeanor sexual offense conviction, Failing to Register would be a class 1 misdemeanor extraordinary risk crime, punishable by 6 to 24 months in the Weld County Jail.
If you or a someone you love has been charged with Failure to Register as a Sex Offender, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense attorneys from the O’Malley Law Office at 970-616-6009 today. Together, we can protect your future.
Image Source: Pexels-Pixabay